On February 28, 2024, President Biden announced an Executive Order directing the Department of Justice to promulgate regulations that restrict or prohibit transactions involving certain bulk sensitive personal data or United States Government-related data and countries of concern or covered persons. The DOJ’s initially identified countries are China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Russia, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, and Venezuela, and the restrictions would also apply to any entity owned by, controlled by, or subject to the jurisdiction or direction of a country of concern as well as any person “knowingly causing or directing, directly or indirectly, a violation” of the regulations.

Click here to read Ropes & Gray’s Client Alert detailing the new EO.